Athletes who deserve to be honoured in SEA Games come back home

May 19


The Myanmar sports team, which competed in the XXXII SEA Games, returned from Cambodia to Yangon International Airport yesterday evening on a Myanmar National Airlines chartered flight.


The honourable athletes were welcomed back by Yangon Region Chief Minister U Soe Thein, Yangon Region ministers, officials from the Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs, presidents from the Myanmar sports federations, and the public at the airport.


The sports team led by Deputy Minister for Sports and Youth Affairs U Myo Hlaing who is also the general secretary of the Myanmar Olympic Committee includes two gold medalists, two silver medallists and one bronze medallist from Sepak Takraw Team, one gold medallist, five silver medallists, and two bronze medallists from Traditional Boat Race Team, two gold medallists, two silver medallists and eight bronze medallists from Vovinam Team, one gold medallist and two bronze medallists from Weightlifting Team, one gold medallist and four bronze medallists from Taekwondo Team, one silver medallist and three bronze medallists from Judo Team, one silver medallist from Badminton Team, one bronze medallist from Cricket Team, athletes from Chess Team, and coaching teams totalling 155.


The gold medallists from the sports team are Than Zaw Oo, Thein Zaw Min, Aung Kyaw Moe, Aung Zaw, Kyaw Zeyar Win, and Zin Ko Ko from Men’s Sepak Takraw Event, Phyu Phyu Than, Khin Hnin Wai, Kyu Kyu Thinn, Naing Naing Win, Nwe Nwe Htwe, and Su Tinza Naing from Women’s HoopTakraw Event, Khant Zaw Aung, Pyae Sone Aung, Thet Paing Phyo, Saw Naing Lin Kyaw, and Tin Ko Ko from Men’s 5-oar (U-24) 250 m Event, Si Thu Maung from Men’s 55-60 kg Event of Vovinam, Aung Zaw Thet, Ye Zaw Moe, and Myo Tun Arnt from Men’s Team (Open) Event of Vovinam, Zin May Oo from Women’s 45 kg Weightlifting Event, and Kyaw Min Naing from Men’s +87 kg Taekwondo Event.


The Myanmar sports team won 21 gold medals, 25 silver medals, and 68 bronze medals totalling 114 in the XXXII SEA Games. — MNA/KZL