DPM MoFA Union Minister attends 19th Asia Cooperation Dialogue (ACD) Ministerial Meeting in Tehran, Iran

At the official invitation of Dr Ali Bagheri Kani, Acting For­eign Minister of the Islamic Republic of Iran and the cur­rent Chair of Asia Cooperation Dialogue (ACD), Deputy Prime Minister and Union Minister for Foreign Affairs U Than Swe participated in the 19th Asia Co­operation Dialogue (ACD) Min­isterial Meeting which was held on 24 June 2024 in Tehran, Iran.


Foreign Ministers and representatives of the ACD Member States attended the 19th ACD Ministerial Meeting, which was held at the Par­sian Azadi Hotel in Tehran. At the meeting, the delegations welcomed the theme of Iran’s ACD Chairmanship: “A more Inter-connected and Empow­ered Asia through New and Emerging Technologies” and delivered their respective coun­try statements.


On the morning of 24 June 2024, Deputy Prime Minister and Union Minister for Foreign Affairs U Than Swe delivered a statement at the 19th ACD Min­isterial Meeting.


In his statement, the Dep­uty Prime Minister and Union Minister for Foreign Minister congratulated the dedication and exemplary efforts of Iran, the current Chair of the ACD and commended Bahrain, the previous Chair of ACD, for its successful Chairmanship. He also welcomed Thailand, the upcoming Chair of ACD.


At the meeting, the Depu­ty Prime Minister and Union Minister for Foreign Affairs also conveyed Myanmar’s condolences on the passing of President Mr Seyyed Ebrahim Raisi and Foreign Minister Dr Hossein Amir-Abdollahian of Iran and mentioned that their legacies and active involvement in ACD cooperation will be re­membered and valued.


At the 19th ACD Ministeri­al Meeting, Foreign Ministers and representatives cordially discussed and exchanged views on matters related to ACD Co­operation mechanisms as well as regional and global issues. Moreover, the ACD Member States updated the meeting on the developments taking place in their respective countries.


At the meeting, the “Guid­ing Principles for the Func­tioning of the Asia Coopera­tion Dialogue Secretariat” and “Rules of Procedure of the Asia Cooperation Dialogue” were approved. In addition, the “Teh­ran Declaration” was adopted by consensus as an outcome document of the 19th ACD Min­isterial Meeting.


During the meeting, the Deputy Prime Minister and Union Minister for Foreign Af­fairs also updated the Myanmar Government’s efforts to ensure peace, development, and de­mocracy in the country, as well as the latest developments of Myanmar to the Heads of Del­egation of ACD Member States.


On the evening of 23 June 2024, Dr Ali Bagheri Kani, Act­ing Foreign Minister of Iran, hosted an official dinner in honour of Ministers of Foreign Affairs and delegations of ACD Member States at the Espinas Palace Hotel in Tehran.


The Asia Cooperation Dia­logue (ACD) was inaugurated in June 2002 in Cha-Am, Thai­land. Currently, 35 countries representing five (5) Regional Groups of Southeast Asia, South Asia, West Asia, Central Asia and East Asia are members of the ACD. Myanmar is one of the founding members of ACD.


By and large, ACD aims to promote interdependence among Asian countries and transform the Asian continent into an Asian community. The ACD Secretariat was inaugu­rated in October 2013, with its headquarters in Kuwait City, the State of Kuwait.


At the moment, the Mem­ber States of ACD have agreed on six (6) priority pillars of Co­operation that are in line with the UN 2030 Agenda for Sustain­able Development, namely: 1) Connectivity; 2) Science, Tech­nology and Innovation; 3) Ed­ucation and Human Resource Development; 4) Food, Energy and Water Security; 5) Culture and Tourism; and 6) Inclusive and Sustainable Development.


The representatives from 31 ACD Member States and eight (8) regional and interna­tional organizations have par­ticipated in the 19th ACD Min­isterial Meeting held in Iran. — MNA